Mission Statement

The purpose of this blog is to help others avoid the mistakes that an impatient novice will always make.

I started writing a little over three years ago, when the digital market was really taking off. I thought to myself, “hey, I’ll write a book and sell it for some extra income.” Thinking this would only take a maximum of two weeks, I set to work right away. (This must have been a moment of brief insanity because I was the kid in high school who couldn’t sit through English with my eyes open). Knowing little more than the difference between a noun and a verb, I relied on my overly active imagination to compensate for a massive amount of ignorance.

I learned quickly that it was not as easy to write a book as I originally thought. Two weeks in and I was barely aware of who my characters were, let alone finished. I bypassed all the tedious things, like plotting, because I was a natural. Such exercises would only postpone my eventual success and complicate the process.

WRONG!

I can say this now, three years later, when my baby is nowhere near complete. In fact, it is a total rewrite. I was aware that my book lacked somewhat in purpose, but as a watcher of Seinfeld, I believed in the concept of something about nothing, in this case a book … but full of charm and interesting characters.

WRONG AGAIN!

I feel like I’ve been whacking my hand with a hammer, as my dad would say, for repeating the same mistakes over and over again. The devastation I experienced after working with a professional editor left me feeling stupid and wasteful. What was supposed to be the next Twilight and eventual box office smash is nothing more than three-hundred pages of wandering mush.

Though I intend to do this rewrite, right now I can’t stomach the idea of starting over a project that I’ve already dedicated so much time to.

So, in the mean time, I will share my experiences for the common good, work on other projects and build my experience so that the next time I query agents, I may actually have something they’ll want to read.

Sincerely,

Endless Edits

2 thoughts on “Mission Statement

  1. Look forward to reading how you get on. I write because I love it. If something comes of it then that’s a bonus. I think I’m capable of something…just might be that something is 10 years from now. However, I take pleasure in every sentence I produce, good or bad. It’s all part of a journey to explore that I am capable of.

    1. thanks! i love writing, just because, but i’d be lying if i said that i didn’t want a little recognition and success. i’m very ambitious and not afraid to ask for critique (though i usually have to take a deep breath after receiving one). anyway, i look forward to checking your blog and i hope you enjoy mine. take care. 🙂

Leave a Reply

