Friday Fictioneers-Sweet 16

Image

Layers of pink tulle rested over a slick satin slip.

Gloria was putting the final touches on her hair, a mass of auburn curls bound with velvet ribbon. A corsage of red roses, baby’s breath and lace rested on her vanity.

Tonight, I am a princess. All eyes would be on her and Gloria would have her choice of dance partners, John, Eric, Taylor … even Patrick with that raging pompadour.

Her guests were waiting. Summoning as much grace as she could, Gloria rose smiling from her seat. She looked splendid.

You only turn sixteen once …

26 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers-Sweet 16

  1. Let’s see…on my sixteenth birthday I played Dungeons and Dragons with my science partner and another friend. No boozing it up that night.
    I was kind of a reject. Still am.

    1. Yeah, my sweet 16 was fun, I had some friends over, but it wasn’t grand. Somewhere though, some girl’s sweet 16 was pretty posh. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for commenting!

    1. yeah, that’s sort of what i was going for. i really envisioned the scene more in the 1950’s, but the photo was a bit too modern for me to admit it. i’m a huge jane austen fan btw. she’s influenced all my writing.
      thanks for the comment!

  2. “That raging pompadour”–big smile on that one. I think that was my senior year in high school and I invited a college guy to the prom. The prom was about 20 miles away in Lincoln, NE and we went to Kmart first so he could buy a bowling ball. I’m sure we were quite a sight but it was an enjoyable night. No drinking or anything else, just fun.

    janet

    1. Pompadours are my favorite. I’m a pretty big Elvis fan so that was a toss in his direction. Sounds like your prom night was a memorable one. πŸ™‚
      Thanks for commenting!

    1. i’m sure you’ll be able to throw together something special. my sweet 16 was simple, i had a bunch of friends over at my parent’s house. good luck and thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

