You know you’re a writer when …. a realist’s perspective

I think I’ve read this line at least a hundred times: You know you’re a writer when …

I have seen many endings to this sentence, but there’s only one that bothers me. I’m a realist to the end. Though I have an active imagination, I think certain statements are downright dumb.

For instance: You know you’re a writer when … you’d rather write than breathe. I know this is just an expression or a  metaphor or whatever, but if you didn’t breathe then you’d be dead. Therefore, I’d rather breathe.

What I could put at the end of this sentence is … you’d rather write than have sex or visit your dying grandmother.

These examples are much more tangible, being set in realistic circumstances, and actually give me a feel for the writer’s devotion to the craft.

I knew I was a writer when I started writing and my mind finally began to clear out. For years I’ve had characters and scenarios running around in my head, distracting me from everything including school, work and even my personal life. But within days of starting the writing process I was able to direct my focus appropriately. That doesn’t mean that I’m never distracted, when I get a new idea I can’t stop thinking about it until it’s on paper, but my mind is much clearer overall.

Anywho, this is just a short rant on the absurdity of certain expressions. Please feel free to share your thoughts and/or how you got interested in writing.

Sincerely,

E.E.

Leave a Reply

