My Favorite Genre … or lack thereof

This is the fifth installment of Ruth Snyder’s Blog Hop. Please click here (http://new.inlinkz.com/luwpview.php?id=381166) to see other submissions to this week’s prompt.

It may be easiest to begin with what I do not like. You will never, ever,  catch me reading anything horror. I’m easily scared and secretly superstitious. When this is compounded with an overactive imagination it leads to peaking around corners and wasted electricity.

I don’t mind characters who are politically motivated, religiously charged or involved in the military, but I don’t want to feel like I’m reading someone’s personal agenda.

I enjoy a lot of different styles of writing, from YA to adult, but I write for adults. There’s a grittiness to my nature that comes out in my writing that wouldn’t be appropriate for young people–I’d be afraid of corrupting someone’s kid, and I’d rather leave that to their parents.

As far as writing goes, I dapple in fantasy and sci-fi. This lets me put that overactive imagination to work. Also, as drama fuels most things, I find it easier to create drama in a completely false environment, where there are no limits to what can physically happen.

To close out this post I’d like to list a few books that I find to be rather rad:

Ender’s Game

Hunger Game trilogy

Rumpole series (by John Mortimer)

Game of Thrones series

Jane Eyre

TrueBlood series

Gone With The Wind

Pride and Prejudice

Lord of the Rings trilogy (alright, not trilogy, because The Hobbit was good too.)

Les Miserables

12 thoughts on “My Favorite Genre … or lack thereof

  1. Oh! Some of those on your list are my absolute favorites (Especially Pride & Prejudice).

    I’ve written for adults and young adults, but lately my stories keep centering around teen protagonists.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Leanne Ross ( readfaced.wordpress.com & @LeanneRossRF )

    1. i have a hard time writing teen protags. they come off superficial and annoying, probably the way i used to be :P. i stick with adult stuff cause i know older people tend to have more depth.

  2. You’d be surprised how interesting young adults are now if you take the time to “research” them. I tend towards New Adult themes though. They’re out from under their parents’ wings but have to figure out how to make adult life work for them. Thanks for the post!

  3. I have watched many of these movies but have read very few of the books. Because of the language, I feel many books should be read aloud and that takes considerably more time. I feel that way about LOTR. One day I may actually tuck myself away and do just that. That said, we do enjoy many of the same stories and that’s cool. All the best with your writing. 🙂

    1. that’s funny, i like reading to myself for the same reason. in my mind i can better appreciate what’s happening. i read aloud when i’m editing and stuff. thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

