Liebster Award Recipient

Image

A special thanks to Matthew Burgos for nominating me for the Liebster Award! I’m so honored to be chosen! Please check out his website Fiction in Flashes.

There are a few rules for accepting the Liebster Award, they are: thank your nominator and link back to their website, answer your nominator’s questions, leave 11 facts about yourself, nominate 5 or more blogs with under 200 followers and give them 11 questions to answer. 

So the first thing I’ll do is answer the questions posted by my nominator, Matthew.

1. If your house is on fire, what will you take and why? Assuming my family is safe, I’d grab my computer. It’s got all my writing and almost all of my photographs.

2. If you’ll leave all the stress in this world, where will you go? I think I’d grow gills and live in the ocean.

3. Will you directly type your writing works or write it down first in a notebook/journal? Both. I prefer writing on the computer. I’m a fast typer. However, I sometimes plot in a notebook or edit on printed pages.

4. What genre of books do you read? I read all sorts: fantasy and sci-fi, the “classics” like Jane Austen and Ann Radcliffe. Anything that’s been around a while and received acclaim.

5. What is you highly recommended read and why? Hmmmmmmm. Well, this might change depending on my mood, but for now I’d say the Hunger Games. This series blew my mind earlier this year. If you’re into action and fantasy, I’d read this.

6. Does music inspires you to write? If yes, what certain song do you listen to? Absolutely, in fact a book I’m writing now was inspired by a Tango called The Devil’s Beauties. Otherwise, it’s the genre that helps me. Like, if I’m writing a sappy love scene, I go to my playlist entitled Romantic/Emotional. If I’m writing fun stuff, I go to my Top Hits (which has an unhealthy quantity of 80’s songs).

7. When was your hardest writing experience? I think writing my first book was the hardest. I’m almost done with edits now, but it’s been three years in the making. As a total novice I sat down and started writing one day, realizing long after the fact that my book had major flaws. A complete rewrite later and I’m almost ready to start querying. Learning the do’s and dont’s of storytelling has been the hardest.

8. If you can have something material today (any price) for free, what will it be and why? I’d rather go somewhere, like France. I wouldn’t mind riding in a limousine through England and Scotland, too.

9. If you will write a story with a dedication, to whom will you address it? The dedication for my current sci-fi spectacular is this: To Lucy, may all your dreams come true and to Laura, whose dreams were cut short. Lucy is my daughter. Laura was my best friend who passed away a few years back due to complications of fluid on the brain.

10. Would you rather live in reality or fantasy? Fantasy … and I’d have super powers.

11. What is writing for you? Writing is the best way for me to express myself. I’m generally a loner and keep my emotions under wraps. There are people who’ve known me for years and still have no idea who I am. That’s not a bragging point by the way, just reality. I put myself into my writing. By asking someone to read my book, I’m trying to share a piece of me: my sense of humor, my fears, my hopes, and more importantly, my vulnerability.

 

The next thing I’m supposed to do is share 11 other tidbits about myself. Here we go:

1. When I’m drunk I sometimes talk like a Brit.

2. My cat of 16 years died in 2009 and I don’t think I will ever entirely get over it.

3. I hate generic advice. It shows little thought or consideration. Example: When every door shuts another opens … You just gotta keep pushin’ on, etc, etc, etc. Be original and specific to my situation, please.

4. Whether in books or movies, I love bad guys or good guys who walk the line, and vigilantes are even better. I’d never want to hang with Superman, but give me half a chance and I’d jump to chill with the Comedian.

5. I think genius is the exception to the rule. The only example I have in this is that even though Elvis, Ray Charles and Johny Cash were bastards, their music was amazing. P.S. If anyone wants to give me a copy of the Million Dollar Quartet, I wouldn’t stop you.

6. My favorite characters are: Jean Valjean, Rhett Butler, Mr. Darcy, Scarlet O’Hara, James Bond and Rumpole.

7. Based on the list in number 6, I try to write female characters that I would like. I don’t like overly emotional women, or stereotyped women. They have to be smart, commanding, ruthless, vengeful, soft (at the right times), and willing to acknowledge their own flaws.

8. Bees and spiders, can’t deal with ’em.

9. Between vamps and werewolves, I’d be a vampire.

10. I love the romance of royalty, you’ll find it in my writing.

11. If I didn’t have eczema and a severe intolerance to nature, I’d apply to Survivor.

 

I nominate for the Liebster Award the following blogs:

The Cat’s Cradle

Michael J. McDonagh

Musings on Life and Experience

Country Fairground

Rose B. Fischer

 

Alright nominees, here’s your 11 questions:
1. What personal trait of yours do you most often give to your fictional characters?

2. Which part of the writing process do you dread the most and why?

3. What’s your favorite book and why?

4. What time of day do you usually write?

5. Do you prefer libraries or bookstores?

6. What do you normally eat/drink while writing?

7. What are your muses?

8. What kind of genre do you read?

9. Who’s the best character ever written?

10. If you could travel through time, would you go to the past or future?

11. How do you balance your life while reaching your writing goals?

 

**Nominees, if you choose to accept the Liebster Award please leave a comment. I love to check your blogs and read your answers!

 

8 thoughts on “Liebster Award Recipient

  1. Thanks for the nomination–It’ll take me a while, I’ve got about four award posts I haven’t made since the last time I got sick.

Leave a Reply

