Giving Thanks

In honor of the holiday I’d like to take a few minutes to say what I am thankful for.

First off, I’m surrounded by great family. My mama, sister, and daddy live nearby and they’re always around to help when I need it. My husband’s extensive extended family lives around us, too. There’s no lacking in familial camaraderie. And … dum dum dum … I’m pregnant with baby #2, due in June!

I’m grateful to the people out there who’ve read and critiqued my work. As any writer will tell you, getting incite is critical, and finding people who’ll actually get back to you is difficult (at least for me). At a recent writer’s conference I met some great ladies who have sense critiqued my query letter, short stories, and sample chapters. Check out their blogs: Caitlin Sinead and Sara Tranum.

I’ve been lucky enough to have two of my short stories published by Reader’s Carnival. One in the October issue and one in the to-be-released December edition. I haven’t been writing very long, but success has been elusive and these small strides mean the world to me.

It’s been a good year. I have a lot to be thankful for, and a lot to look forward to.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Valerie

Me and my daughter taking selfies with our flowers.
Me and my daughter taking selfies with our flowers.
2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Congrats on Baby #2! I hope that isn’t the final name… πŸ˜‰ Lol! Having ppl you can depend on to read your work is super important and definitely something to be grateful for. I have 3 cps, and I love them to death! I’m waiting to see if a short of mine made it into an anthology, and it would mean a lot to me if it does. A small yes in all the no’s would be great!! So I totally understand the small strides. Happy Thanksgiving!

    1. thanks leandra! i think i can come up with something a little more interesting in terms of baby names. πŸ˜‰ i’ve had better luck getting people to read my short stuff, but getting feedback on my novels is hard to come by–still working on developing my cp list.

      happy thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

