Getting Back in the #Writing Saddle

During the last two months of my pregnancy and the first month of my son’s life, I wasn’t getting enough sleep or maintaining enough energy to do any real writing. But now, with life normalizing a bit, I find the urge to write coming on strong. I’ve been lucky so far in that my daughter’s nap aligns with my son’s for at least one hour in the afternoon. That means free mama!

I find the creative process coming on a little slower than it used to, but my word counts are inching upwards. What started off somewhere between 200-300 words during my hour of freedom has moved up to between 500-600.Β  It’s just like riding a bike!

What I’ve decided to do is pick back up on my science fiction novel. This novel is my other baby, and my first ever writing project. It’s been a few years inΒ  the works, mostly because I keep rewriting it. I think the total count so far is three times, but that’s only because as I keep learning about the writing process I recognize the failure of my sci-fi novel in whatever current state it’s in.

Anyway, I haven’t worked on it this year, but the characters are my favorite of all the ones I’ve created and there’s something comforting about working with them again. It steadies me in my hectic world full of midnight feedings, marathon diaper changes, and a messy house. I’m happy to say that even though my book is in its 4th complete rewrite, I’ve been able to salvage segments which did work from the previous version. I’ve changed characters–and deleted some–and altered the storyline so that things are happening faster. With any luck, this will be my last rewrite. πŸ˜‰

*Who else has gone through a similar experience?

11 thoughts on “Getting Back in the #Writing Saddle

  1. I am in awe! When my children were that age, any time they were both asleep was the only time I actually slept. Good for you for your determination! Still, don’t forget to take care of yourself as well. These tiny people absorb so much from us, we need to make sure we don’t run dry. Let your writing be a way you nourish yourself, but don’t let it be one more demand pulling you down. All us moms are pulling for you!

  2. I know exactly what you mean. It took some serious effort to write in the last few weeks of pregnancy. I’m excited you’re working on the novel! The first page they read at JRW14 sounded so interesting! I’d love to read some as you rework it! Good luck! πŸ™‚

    1. thanks sara, but this is the novel i pitched to the agent last year.

      but i’ll take you up on your offer sometime. πŸ™‚ the novel you’re referencing needs a bit more work, but the first draft is almost done. πŸ™‚

      how are things? you’re pretty close to your due date right?

      1. Due date was yesterday, but I was induced at 39 weeks, so new baby T is already 8 days old! Now if only we could get him to sleep for longer than 3 hours at a shot at night…

      2. congrats!! i hear ya! my little one is doing 3-4 hour sleeping stints at night. i think i’d be fine if he moved along to 5 hour stints–then i’d only have to get up once a night. πŸ˜‰

        did you register for either day of the james river writer’s conference?

      3. AMEN. We’ve had a few “marathon feeding” episodes…intermittent feeding and snoozing for 2-3 hours. Painful because they always happen at…oh, 10-1030!
        I have not registered yet…we still need to sort out the schedule. I’m *hoping* we might actually be able to work it out so I can go the whole time! Fingers crossed!

  3. Good for you for getting back to it! I can’t say that I’ve gone through the same thing (still single with no kids), but I have fallen out of the writing saddle for other reasons. I definitely understand that writing urge; going too long without writing tends to leave me feeling a bit twitchy.

    Keep us posted on the SF novel! I’m sure you’ll get it to that no-more-rewrites point soon. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

