The #Grateful Challenge, 1

Thanks to my friend Sara, author of the blog The Mother Who Runs, I have inspiration for this week’s post. The essence of the challenge is to post about the things you are grateful for, the things that may be taken for granted on a daily basis, and to remember that life is good.

As the mother of a three year old and a two-and-a-half month old, I find myself overwhelmed and exhausted quite often. It’s easy for me to get down because I don’t have time to write, sleep, watch TV, manage my blog (regularly) or in general, just have time for myself. I appreciate this opportunity to remember the little things and to appreciate what life has given me.

Firstly, I am grateful for my family. Not to be all cheesy or anything, but without the support of these nearly thirty people that live nearby me–yes we are a village–I don’t think I could manage.

Secondly, I am grateful for my healthy babies. There are plenty of parents with sick children and I can’t imagine how it must feel to have a kid with some kind of chronic illness or disability. My rowdy insomniacs are perfectly healthy, and it’s nice to remember that.

Thirdly, and separately, I am grateful that I’ve found writing. Before I discovered writing I was one of those people without a passion. My whole life, when someone asked what I wanted to be I usually just shrugged. After high school I had to apply to college, I didn’t know what I wanted to be, so I just graduated with a bachelor’s in art. It was kind of an empty feeling. But now, I know what I’m supposed to do–success be damned–though I really do want to publish a book one day. 😉

There are many things in the world to be grateful for, but I think these are my top three at present. Further installments as we get into the holidays, perhaps even a nice cheesy one for Thanksgiving.

Cheers all, and have a nice week!

7 thoughts on “The #Grateful Challenge, 1

  1. Thanks for joining the challenge! I’m pleased to have been your inspiration this week. 🙂 It certainly does take a village, sometimes I think for life in general! Life is definitely sweeter with a village to share with and support each other, whether is raising your kids or writing your book!

    1. thanks J.A.! things have been hectic and i miss the WC crowd. how’s your writing going? are you still working on that piece about the guy with mysterious father and has flashbacks to the past?

  2. Healthy children are such a huge blessing. I am so thankful everyday my little boy is healthy, especially as I carried him while dealing with a chronic disease myself. And I hear you on the insomniac part! =) Also, the writing. It’s so great to have passion for something!

Leave a Reply

