31 and Counting…

This year, on this magical day, I turn 31! Last year, my hubby and I had all these grandiose ideas about throwing a raging 30th birthday party. Well, it didn’t happen. I was a month pregnant, sick as a dog, and in no position to entertain the masses.

october 2015 (2)This year we’re being more realistic. We’re buying each other presents. Indulging in cake. And not worried about throwing a big shindig. My hubby and I now have a 3 year old daughter and a 4 month old son. Perhaps we’ll hit the town for number 32?

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s just enjoy being 31!

october 2015 (17) As I tread softly into my 30’s, I’m finding more often than not that I don’t miss my 20’s. I think a big part of that is being in a good place emotionally and physically. I’ve achieved several things in my life, and that makes getting older okay (at least for now 😉 ). I have a lovely little family and a whole slew of hobbies. I’m healthy. I don’t cuss as often as I used to. And my passion for writing is constantly growing.

My goal for this year is to be more social. I’ve always shied away from big groups and strangers, but I’d like to be more confident. I’d like to be more vocal. I figure at some point I’ve got to push my insecurities aside, let’s see if I can manage it this year. Of course, I’m a hit at parties once I get a little booze-assurance, but managing myself without liqueur will be the goal.

I’d also like to finish my spec fiction novel, Soulless. I’ve been whipping it around for two years and it’s time I sat down and got serious. The past six months I’ve been either too tired (last trimester) or too busy/tired (new baby) to do much serious writing. I’ve submitted a few super shorts to 101 Words, but other than that and a few blog posts, my writing has stopped. I’m hoping that as my daughter starts preschool in January and my son gets a few months older, time will magically appear and allow me to once again put ink on the page.

So friends, I’m looking forward to this year and I’m not afraid of being a thirty-something! Bring it on!

val 80's

5 thoughts on “31 and Counting…

    1. yeah, we’re considering a third child at some point, but right now i just want 1 and 2 to get a smidgen older so i can have some me time again. 😉 i know what you mean about time flying. until yesterday night i forgot that today was my birthday. kids, they’ll take it right out of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

