Writing Challenge

Special thanks to Dan Alatorre for the impromptu writing prompt this morning.

Basically, we had to get a random number from a random number generator, then answer the corresponding question from Dan’s blog. My question and answer are pasted below. 🙂

 

#48 In a story we are often asked to create images for the reader that we may not have experienced ourselves. When have you had to do that?

 

Well, I write a lot of sci-fi and fantasy, so pretty much everything I write I’ve never experienced … except my bar scenes. I been known to hit a bar or two and chum it up with a glass of Jack Daniels.

But back to the question. I’ve had to create a lot of battle scenes between aliens and humans, demons and angels, devils and man. Since I’ve never done these things, I’ve had to depict gun fights realistically, as well as figure out what powers a character may have and how those powers should be properly wielded.

But my favorite things to make up are alien cultures. There’s so much flexibility there. One of my WIPs spends a lot of time on an alien planet where I get to make up social structure, customs, traditions, prejudices. The list really goes on and on.

I guess the true answer to the question is that I prefer to make up stuff. It gives me a creative outlet!

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Challenge

Leave a Reply

