2017, Let’s Begin

2016 went out in a heap of good tidings, recovered kids, and mounds of presents! We ate too much junk and probably drank too much wine, but it was worth it.

dscn9780
My brood

But the craziness won’t be stopping just because we’ve reached the New Year. Over the holidays, my hubby and I put in offer on a new house, and we’ll be moving sometime end of February or early March. So now that we’ve been inundated with loads of new toys, clothes, and household goodies, it’s time to pack it all up and get out!

Unfortunately, packing up my home will probably cut in on my writing time for the next few months. So I’ve decided to go back to micro-writing, and try to submit new pieces to places like 101 Words and Paragraph Planet. I may even even branch way-out and write things up to 300 words!

I am also hoping for a positive response to my submission from the Elephant’s Bookshelf. But no matter what their response is, I want to dive back into Soulless come next Fall. Both my kiddos will be in pre-k, so for the first time in five years, I will be childless two mornings a week! Writing partay over here!! It would be grand to actually finish one of my books–and with my new office at the new house, perhaps inspiration will take flight.

tumblr_n47d7f7ufv1rt5pgzo1_400
tumblr

In addition to that, I’ve dropped out of most of the writing communities that I’ve browsed over the past few years, so it might be neat to get back out there again–offer some feedback, and get some in return. I’ve dappled in QueryTracker, James River Writer’s Group, Writer’s Carnival, Flashdogs, Friday Fictioneers, and Channillo. All great communities, by the way, they’re just places that require more time than I’ve got nowadays.

Oh! I can’t believe I almost forgot, but I’m attending the Agile Writer’s Conference in late January! I’ve only ever been to the James River Writer’s Conference, so it’s great to be able to spread my wings and visit a new place and meet new writers. I’m very excited about this conference. It’s got a very different format from JRWC.

What you do is pick a track that most appeals to you, and all your classes and panels fall within that theme. Themes like: self-publishing and marketing, writing opening scenes, finishing and editing. I haven’t quite decided what I want to do, but I’ll probably either choose the panels focusing on social marketing or the ones focused on actually finishing your novel and polishing it up. Either way, I think it’ll be a fun experience to get focused information on exactly what I need.

On a personal note, I’ve got two vacations planned, one to Greenbrier and a cruise in July! All in all, I’d say that 2017 is shaping to be a fun and exciting year!

So how were your holidays? I know I’ve been gone for the month of December…did anything exciting happen, either personally or professionally? Please leave a comment! I’d love to chat.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “2017, Let’s Begin

    1. it’s hard to get what you need out of those communties without putting inlots of time. here’s to hoping i can rejoin one of these groups this year! thanks for stopping by! happy new year!

Leave a Reply

