2017 Book List

So, I was browsing The Costco Connection, looking for coupons, when I came across an interesting article featuring Amy Stewart, and her book Girl Waits With Gun. I could tell right away from the cover, that I should stop.

23719378

In the past few years, I’ve grown more interested in the roaring 20’s. This is in large part due to Downton Abbey. But I also enjoyed Mary Miley’s Silent Murder about two years ago, so I’m open to this era and all it’s intrigue.

Anyway, here’s the write up for the novel, as taken from Amazon:

“Constance Kopp doesn’t quite fit the mold. She towers over most men, has no interest in marriage or domestic affairs, and has been isolated from the world since a family secret sent her and her sisters from city to country fifteen years ago. When a powerful, ruthless factory owner runs down their buggy, a dispute over damages turns into a war of bricks, bullets, and threats as he unleashes his gang on their farm. The sheriff enlists her help, and it turns out Constance has knack for outwitting (and disarming) the criminal element that might just take her back out into the world and onto a new path in life. Quick-witted and full of madcap escapades, Girl Waits with Gun is a story about one woman rallying the courage to stand up for and grow into herself with a little help from sisters and sheriffs along the way.

Through Amy Stewart’s exuberant storytelling, Constance Kopp catapults from forgotten historical anecdote to unforgettable historical fiction heroine, an outsized woman not only ahead of her time but sometimes, even, ahead of ours.”

Now, I don’t have a long reading list, ever. I like to take things as they come, but this book will be added to my shelf beside Life of Pi, Spider’s Bite, and Climbing the Stairs. If I’m lucky, I’ll be able to read all these books during 2017. (I’ve been shamefully slow at reading the past two years, but I will make the effort.) And with my new office in my new house, I’m hoping there will be more opportunities to indulge in the written word.

So, what’s the top pick on your reading list for 2017? Please leave a comment. I’d love to chat!

2 thoughts on “2017 Book List

  1. Oh, I wish I’d never started my book list. See an interesting book, add it to the list… read 60 books a year and I’m still gaining a net 50 each year. What is a girl to do?
    🙂

    1. I am so envious! But I guess having a long book list is a good sort of problem. 😉 you know there’s always something good on your shelf. I look forward to adding onto mine! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

