Using Facebook Settings to Increase Exposure to Your Writing, Part 1

Two weekends ago, I attended the Agile Writer’s Conference and learned some amazingly helpful things. Every Friday, I’m going to post my notes spanning from editing and formating, to the benefits and techniques of utilizing social media.

This week’s post is from the panel called, Accelerating Exposure Through Social Media. The discussion was presided over by Sharvette Mitchell, a web designer, social media coach, and talk radio host.

facebook-like-memes
Bloginian

The core focus of Sharvette’s speech focused on utilizing the different aspects of Facebook. She said that having an author’s page was important, but not as important as having a personal page–and using that personal page to really push your writing.

The reason? Relationships.

Your friends on Facebook are relationships already in existence. Those relationships are personal. Deep. The grassroots of your writing platform, if used proficiently.

So…there are some setting and layout options you can use on your Facebook page to improve how people see you, and your content.

  • Make sure your profile picture is a personal image/headshot–professionally taken, if possible.
  • Your cover image is a billboard. Someone visiting your page should be able to tell within 7 seconds that you’re a writer; an image of your book, for example.
    • You can use a website like Canva.com, or hire a graphic artist to design a professional looking cover image. (Graphic art for something of this size should range between $25-$50.)
  • Fill in the “Intro” space to the left, underneath your cover photo. It’ll be brief, similar in characters to what Twitter allows. Write a blurb about yourself, be sure to include something about your writing.
  • Change your page from private to public–now doing balk! I know I did. My personal page is mine! That’s where I post pictures of my kids, pictures of my family, and visit with trusted people. But there are ways to keep all that stuff safe, you just have to be diligent about labeling what you post.
    • Firstly, enable the Follow button.
      • Go to settings, public posts, then select that the “public” can see your posts. This will automatically include a Follow button at the top of your page. This setting allows people who are interested in your content, to follow you and see your public posts.
    • Another cool aspect, if someone friends you, they automatically become a follower. That way, even if you ignore their request, they won’t know, and will see anything that you lable as public–no hurt feelings.
    • As long as you mark your personal posts for friends, none of your personal content will be viewable to the public.

6dd

Shoo, that sounds like a lot of gobbledygook, so please leave me a comment if things need further clarification.

To be honest, I haven’t gone through with the transfer of making my page public, yet. I’m just making sure I’ve mentally committed to this sort of posting style, because once your page is public, you have to individually mark things as private as you post. For myself, I just want to make sure my brain is dialed in to that sort of thinking.

But what I have done, and this is something Sharvette suggested, is adjust my Twitter account, so that my tweets pop up on my Facebook page, which is cool. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while, just couldn’t figure out–because I’m totally not a techy. Now my friends and family have access to all my super fun #Sixwordstories, #writing, #pubtips, and all the other daily tweeting that I participate in.

  • To do this, go to settings in Twitter, select Apps, select Facebook. Then it’ll ask you to log into your Facebook account and approve the connection.

Cool huh!

Next Friday, I’ll cover things like Facebook Live, book launch parties, and post-content recommendations.

I hope you’ll swing by and check it out!

If you have anything to add to what’s been said above, please feel free to leave a comment! I’d love to chat!

2 thoughts on “Using Facebook Settings to Increase Exposure to Your Writing, Part 1

  1. This is an interesting perspective. I’ve blogged – probably too many times – about the fact that it’s important to keep your personal page personal and have a separate author page. So many friends get tired of hearing about your books. Oh sure, I share with my friends when I have a new book come out or when something from the writing world crosses over. But otherwise I keep things split. I do have a fair number of friends that follow my author page and are super supportive.

    1. I completely understand, and am actually in the same boat, at present. I haven’t made my personal page public, but I have linked it to my twitter. But I don’t think it’ll be too much of a big deal if I decide to change things over. I have a lot of friends who sell make up or teach exercise brands or participate in all those healthy smooth lifestyles, and I have to see all their posts. 😉

      Thanks for the follow! I’ll swing over your way and check out some posts. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

