My Writing Process…er, Progress

 

f1221c6297557c64ba6c4854b5e1886d

So, I’ve been writing for over 6 years now, and gone from an attrocious novice, to what I consider a decent emerging author. I’ve had several short stories published–also lots of micro-fiction, which is so fun! And I’m getting closer and closer to actually finishing a novel that’s good enough to pester agents about.

The progress I’ve noticed in my writing is something that’s emerged organically, and I think it’s just due to practice. I feel like I’m thinking more like a writer, than a person just trying to write.

And I have to say, I’m stoked about that. What I’m talking about are the complexities of storytelling, specifically, character development and interaction.

In the past, I haven’t introduced a lot of new characters throughout a long piece of writing. Or the ones that have been introduced are just not that important in the grand scheme of the plot, or aren’t spontaneous. But in working on Refining Sylver–my lovely werewolf novel–I’ve realized the fun of introducing new characters–ones that were completely out of the blue–and intertwining their story with the MC’s.

In the 1000+ words I wrote last week, I introduced 2 new characters that I decided would not only be related, but estranged, and would be brought back together somehow during the story. It’s added a layer of intrigue–for myself–that I wasn’t expecting and I’m looking forward to fleshing it out in ink.

gifs_of_smashing_breaking_crashing_through_things_06
lzismile.com

I’m sure we’ve all experienced certain breakthroughs as we stride toward our writing goals. Have you broken any ceilings lately–or walls? Done better or more creatively than you thought you could?

Please leave a comment or word of advice! We’re all in this writing thing together!

Leave a Reply

