Thank You!

Well, last week I officially got 200 followers on this blog! I’m so grateful to everyone who’s followed, commented, and shared my posts. I have enjoyed getting to know you all and exchanging stories and ideas. So to celebrate this momentous occassion, I would like to share a short excerpt from my current WIP, Refining Sylver.

Part 1 of this novel was posted on Channillo for 4 months last year, and I pulled it down in January with the intention of continuing Part 2 and 3. I’m so excited to be moving forward with this story, which holds the potential of being the first complete novel that might be worth doing something with by Valerie Brown.

I stare at the grey wolf. There are vacant slits were the eyes used to be. I think I’ve forgotten to breathe, because I’m getting lightheaded. My pulse is everywhere: in my fingers, my ears, my temples. I know this animal. I’ve completely forgotten the bar and everyone in it until Dire grabs me by the arm.

“We need to go.”

All I know is I’m moving towards the exit. The wolf hide is getting further away, and I’m wishing for the first time in my life that my wolf senses worked all the time. I desperately want to inhale that wolf’s scent.

My stomach takes a turn for the worse as we enter the alley. I wrench my arm from Dire’s grasp as I vomit on the cobbles.

Dire grabs me by both arms and shoves me towards the parking lot. Tears sting my eyes, but not because I’m heaving dinner. It’s because that wolf skin in the bar was once my father.

Refining Sylver Official Cover

Thanks again for all the support! This writing community is the best!

2 thoughts on “Thank You!

Leave a Reply

