#Write20Minutes Update

 

giphy
giphy.com

So I started writing 20 minutes per day about a month and a half ago. It’s been super fun and successful. My ms has gone from about 30,000 words to almost 40,000 words. Yesterday I clocked in my twenty minutes, scored 566 words (the kids were out of the house and I had zero distractions), and totalled my ms so far at 39,324 words.

I’m so stoked to have increased my word count by almost 10,000 words since mid May!

So where to go from here…I’m going to keep plugging away at Refining Sylver. I have no idea how long it’ll be, but I’d like to finish it by the end of the year. That would totally make my writing year a blowout!

i-can-do-it

In addition to my standard writing, I’m going to refine and perfect my opening page for submission to the James River Writer’s Conference in October. Hopefully, they’ll select mine for critique.

I’d also like to clean up my opening chapter and meet up with an agent for one-on-one feedback at same conference. (I’ve never done this before, so if you’ve got any advice, please share.) *How many pages would you ask an agent to read? 2 or 3? In the past I think the meet time is usually only 7 minutes.

Please leave a comment or word of advice! We’re all in this writing thing together!

Check back later this week for my writing notes based on the #write20minutes experience.

 

 

Leave a Reply

